Child pages
  • Upgrade guide

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Note
titleTrouble during upgrade?

If you have any trouble during the upgrade, the community in the support forum at at forum.contenido.org may can answer your be able to help you and answer any questions.

Recommendation for upgrades

It is highly recommended that upgrades from an earlier version are done local locally (or one on a second installation) and not on the production system, as many fixes and changes might came along with the upgrade depending on the amount of modules and plugins used in the system.

...

Info
titleNote

Doing an update on a local or second system has the major advantage that your productive page is only offline for a few minutes not reachable and you can take as long as you want doing for the upgrade.

However, as an update can take a long time , you must ensure, make sure that no new content is being added to the page once you have taken a backup of all files and the database. Otherwise, the replace of your local installation also would replace any content entered restoring the backup might delete changes made in the meantime.

To shorten the maintenance time of the page you could take another backup of database and files on the day, you are performing the upgrade of productive system. Take care, that you are doing all steps according to the guide, to prevent any mistakes.

...

The very first step of a upgrade is the backup of ALL existing files of your web page (including all clients with their uploads and so on) in the filesystem and of course the whole database. 

Warning
titleWarning

It is highly recommended doing a backup of all stuff to restore your page if upgrade process fails. If you are not performing a backup of your installation you might can not restore your old installation if anything went wrong. This can cause irreparable content lossadvisable to make a backup before you attempt the upgrade. If anything goes wrong you might lose your content and without a backup it will be impossible to retrieve it again. Backup the whole filesystem and the complete database and don't lose it!

Download and unzip latest version of CONTENIDO

...

Rename all directories - except all client directories and the directory "data" , where this folder already exists - by appending the suffix "_old" to the directory name.

...

Info
titleNote

If you have multiple clients or your clients client's directory name is not "cms" you have to copy the files of the folder "cms" of your download to each client folder. Take care, that individual project changes are not overwritten.

Info
titleHinweis

If you have multiple clients environments or your clients environment's directory name is not "production" you have to copy all files from download folder "production" to every environment folder. Take care, that individual project changes are not overwritten.

...

Open the upgrade web interface by visitting visiting "setup/" of your installation. 

...

If the upgrade process was successful, try to login into the backend with your previous password. Please delete any content of your browser cache before to avoid display problems.

If you have installed custom plugins in the system, it may occur, that the backend header displays an error message. As long the plugins must be ported to the new plugin syntax (see below) these errors should be fixed then.When you encountered any problems during the update, please have a look into at our support forum on at forum.contenido.org. Maybe other persons did have had the same problem and you can find a solution for this problem it there.

Fixing usage of removed functionality

Every time an update removes deprecated functionality you must check your modules and plugins for outdated functionality. If you do not, backend and frontend will behave uncorrectlyincorrectly.

If the version you are upgrading to has any removed outdated functionality you can check in the Changelog area. If you have some problems with plugins, please contact the plugin authors to advise you what to do on upgrading the system.

Cleaning up and finish upgrade

...

Replace productive installation with upgraded system

On top At the beginning of this guide we recommended you to do the upgrade local. The changes made to your system now must be transferred to the production system. You must replace all files in the filesystem and import the whole database.

...