Child pages
  • Upgrade from CONTENIDO 4.8 to 4.9

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Info
titleNote

Doing an update on a local or second system has the major advantage that your productive page is only offline for a few minutes not reachable and you can take as long as you want doing for the upgrade.

However, as an update can take a long time, you must ensure, that no new content is being added to the page once you have taken a backup of all files and the database. Otherwise, the replace of your local installation also would replace any content entered in the meantime.

To shorten the maintenance time of the page you could take another backup of database and files on the day, you are performing the upgrade of productive system. Take care, that you are doing all steps according to the guide, to prevent any mistakes.

...

Upgrading to another version of CONTENIDO can change the systems behaviourbehavior. Thus, modules and plugins must be checked. Please have a look for compatibility of all plugins you are using. The author of the plugin must offer a version that works with version 4.9. Plugins of version 4.8 definitely do NOT work with version 4.9 because the plugin system was changed. Chains should work as before.

Check Verify that all languages of all clients if they have a configured language and a country code. The upgrade process will not proceed if it detects any language without a country and/or language code. Set these codes in the language administration of CONTENIDO by selecting a value for "Country" and "Language".

Create a backup of filesystem and database

The very first step of a an upgrade is the backup of ALL existing files of your web page (including all clients with their uploads and so on) in the filesystem and of course the whole database. 

Warning
titleWarning

It is highly recommended doing a backup of all stuff to restore your page if upgrade process fails. If you are not performing a backup of your installation you might can not restore your old installation if anything went wrong. This can cause irreparable content lossadvisable to make a backup before you attempt the upgrade. If anything goes wrong you might lose your content and without a backup it will be impossible to retrieve it again. Backup the whole filesystem and the complete database and don't lose it!

Download and unzip latest version of CONTENIDO

...

Info
titleNote
If you are performing the upgrade on your productive system you should ensure that from now on all requests are redirected to a maintenance page or so, because the frontend now gets affected and would will display errors.

Delete the following resources (if existing) in the client folder(s) of your installation:

...

Rename all directories - except all client directories and the directory "data", where this folder already exists - by appending the suffix "_old" to the directory name.

...

Open the upgrade web interface by visitting visiting "setup/" of your installation. 

Info
titleNote

Once again make sure you have a copy of your database backupped as a back up because now the database now gets will get affected.

Choose setup type "upgradeUpgrade" and proceed with the upgrade. 

...

If you have installed custom plugins in the system, it may occur, that the backend header displays an error message. As long the plugins must be ported to the new plugin syntax (see below) these errors should be fixed then.When The most likely reason for this is, that some plugins are not using the new plugin system yet. You will need to update all plugins that are not compatible with 4.9.

If you encountered any problems during the update, please have a look into our support forum on at forum.contenido.org. Maybe other persons did have had the same problem and you can find a solution for this problem it there.

Moving configuration files

You must have to move the configuration files stored in the root directory of your client to the folder data/config/ENVIRONMENT. Do not miss other local configuration files such as config.local.php and config.after.php!

If you had changed configurations for the backend, you must apply them to the new configuration files in data/config/ENVIRONMENT. We recommend you to use the config.local.php, so you must not don't have to modify any core files.

Fixing usage of removed functionality

Every time an update removes deprecated functionality you must check your modules and plugins for outdated functionality. If you do not, backend and frontend will behave uncorrectly.

If the version you are upgrading to has any removed outdated functionality you can check in the Changelog area.

Please keep in mind, that plugins have other structure in version 4.9 and may not work immediately after update. It belongs to the plugin author to advise you what to do on upgrading the system.

 

Cleaning up and finish upgrade

Once you have downloaded a local copy of the filesystem backup made sure that everything works correctly, you can delete any folder which is suffixed with "_old". These folders are not needed any longer.

...