Child pages
  • Upgrade guide
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 6 Next »

This page guides you through an upgrade of CONTENIDO 4.9. If you want to update an old version (e. g. CONTENIDO 4.8) to 4.9, please read the guide "Upgrade from CONTENIDO 4.8 to 4.9". For an installation, please have a look at this guide.

Trouble during upgrade?

If you have any trouble during the upgrade, the community in the support forum at forum.contenido.org may can answer your questions.

Recommendation for upgrades

It is highly recommended that upgrades from an earlier version are done local (or one a second installation) and not on the production system, as many fixes and changes might came along with the upgrade depending on the amount of modules and plugins used in the system.

When you are done with the upgrade on your local system, you can replace your productive installation with the local installation. 

Note

Doing an update on a local or second system has the major advantage that your productive page is only a few minutes not reachable and you can take as long as you want doing the upgrade.

However, as an update can take a long time, you must ensure, that no new content is being added to the page once you have taken a backup of all files and the database. Otherwise, the replace of your local installation also would replace any content entered in the meantime.

To shorten the maintenance time of the page you could take another backup of database and files on the day, you are performing the upgrade of productive system. Take care, that you are doing all steps according to the guide, to prevent any mistakes.

Checks before upgrade

Upgrading to another version of CONTENIDO can change the systems behaviour. Thus, modules and plugins must be checked. Please have a look for compatibility of all plugins you are using.

Create a backup of filesystem and database

The very first step of a upgrade is the backup of ALL existing files of your web page (including all clients with their uploads and so on) in the filesystem and of course the whole database. 

Warning

It is highly recommended doing a backup of all stuff to restore your page if upgrade process fails. If you are not performing a backup of your installation you might can not restore your old installation if anything went wrong. This can cause irreparable content loss!

Download and unzip latest version of CONTENIDO

Get a copy of the latest download release archive from the website contenido.org. Do not use other sources for downloads! Unzip the archive to a destination of your choice on your computer.

Prepare client folder(s) for upgrade

Note

If you are performing the upgrade on your productive system you should ensure that from now on all requests are redirected to a maintenance page or so, because the frontend now gets affected and would display errors.

Delete the following resources (if existing) in the client folder(s) of your installation:

  • dbfs.php
  • error.php
  • front_content.php
  • front_crcloginform.inc.php
  • index.php

Replace previous system files

Rename all directories - except all client directories and the directory "data", where this folder already exists - by appending the suffix "_old" to the directory name.

Then upload all directories from your unpacked download archive in this directory.

Note

If you have multiple clients or your clients directory name is not "cms" you have to copy the files of the folder "cms" of your download to each client folder. Take care, that individual project changes are not overwritten.

Hinweis

If you have multiple clients or your clients directory name is not "production" you have to copy all files from download folder "production" to every environment folder. Take care, that individual project changes are not overwritten.

Executing upgrade interface

Open the upgrade web interface by visitting "setup/" of your installation. 

Note

Once again make sure you have a copy of your database backupped because the database now gets affected.

Choose setup type "upgrade" and proceed with the upgrade. 

Note

When you are asked for entering the database credentials you must use the same as the old installation. Otherwise the upgrade fails. 

Test backend login after upgrade

If the upgrade process was successful, try to login into the backend with your previous password. Please delete any content of your browser cache before to avoid display problems.

If you have installed custom plugins in the system, it may occur, that the backend header displays an error message. As long the plugins must be ported to the new plugin syntax (see below) these errors should be fixed then.

When you encountered any problems during update, please have a look into our support forum on forum.contenido.org. Maybe other persons did have the same problem and you can find a solution for this problem there.

Fixing usage of removed functionality

Every time an update removes deprecated functionality you must check your modules and plugins for outdated functionality. If you do not, backend and frontend will behave uncorrectly.

If the version you are upgrading to has any removed outdated functionality you can check in the Changelog area. If you have some problems with plugins, please contact the plugin authors to advise you what to do on upgrading the system.

Cleaning up and finish upgrade

Once you have downloaded a local copy of the filesystem backup you can delete any folder which is suffixed with "_old". These folders are not needed any longer.

Deactivate maintenance mode if activated, your website now should be running with the new version. 

Replace productive installation with upgraded system

On top of this guide we recommended you to do the upgrade local. The changes made to your system now must be transferred to the production system. You must replace all files in the filesystem and import the whole database.

Note

Do not forget to set the write permissions for folders and files. You can check correct permissions in the system integrity check in the backend.

Restore an old installation on upgrade failure

To restore the old installation when upgrade failed you have to delete all directories, which are NOT suffixed with "_old" and remove that suffix from all directories. Additionally, you must overwrite the database with your backup.

Maybe it is necessary to delete your browser cache.

  • No labels